- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
Statute of Limitations laws limit the amount of time a plaintiff has to file a lawsuit. Statute of limitations laws help to guarantee that the legal process can move forward in a timely manner, that evidence will still be fresh and that witnesses are still available to testify. In the event of a wrongful death, a lawsuit would be brought forward by the victims executor; typically a parent, spouse or child. In California, the statute of limitations to file a wrongful death claim is two years from the date of death.
In certain circumstances, there are exceptions to the law, known as the discovery rule. The discovery rule states that the statute of limitations begins at the time an injury was discovered, or became known. For instance, if a wrongful death occurred due to an injury or illness that was brought on by a defective product a year earlier, the statute of limitations would have begun at the time the injury or illness was first diagnosed. This could potentially mean that the time frame an executor has to file a wrongful death suit could run out before death even occurs.
There are other statute of limitations exceptions that may apply statewide as well. For example, in California, the statute of limitations for a wrongful death that occurred due to asbestos exposure is reduced down to one year after the death occurred, or one year from the date the victim knew of asbestos exposure, whichever is later.
In addition to the discovery rule, it is possible for the statute of limitations to be suspended, or tolled for a certain period of time. Certain scenarios may cause a wrongful death claim to be tolled, for instance in dealing with a minor, imprisonment or mental health issues.
It is very important to understand the statute of limitations laws where you live. When it comes to receiving the compensation you deserve, time is of the essence. Since wrongful death laws can be very complex, you must contact a trusted attorney to help you understand your rights. If you think that you may have a wrongful death claim, or are interested in learning more, contact wrongful death attorney Frank D Penney today.
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]
For at least the last few years, anyone tuned into national news is aware of what seems a wave of police brutality and cases of wrongful death by police shooting working through the newspapers and courts. The Los Angeles Police Department reported that 2017 was a record year for settlement payments, at nearly $81 million (not […]