- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
After an accident, many people wonder how to choose a personal injury lawyer. If you or someone close to you has been involved in an auto collision, slip-and-fall, or wrongful death, your life has been impacted. The laws of California may provide you compensation and $$$ damages if you have been wrongfully injured or hurt.
Insurance companies run a business and lose money every time they a pay a settlement, including yours. They are well versed in ways to minimize how much they pay you. A personal injury iawyer can help you attain the maximum amount of damages you are legally entitled to receive. Hiring a personal injury lawyer does not come with a guarantee of money. Learning when to get a personal injury lawyer can be the first step to recovery.
If you are unsure as to whether to hire a lawyer, most personal injury attorneys, including Frank Penney Injury Lawyers, offer free consultations and can discuss with you whether you would benefit from a hiring a personal injury lawyer.
A personal injury will not add value to your case if you have not sustained injuries or noticeable impact damage to your vehicle. If, for example, your car was scratched by another vehicle but sustained no impact and you were not injured, a personal injury would likely not be able to add value to your case. As mentioned before, calling a personal injury lawyer is sometimes free and you can call to determine if hiring an attorney is best for you.
In choosing a personal injury lawyer be sure to hire an attorney who specializes in personal injury. Like other areas of law, personal injury can be highly technical and complex. In addition, specialized firms often have private investigators on staff, who can rush to the scene of your accident and preserve evidence which can increase your settlement amount.
Hiring a personal injury attorney that focuses only on personal injury will ensure that you pursue all legal remedies which the law entitles you to.
If you have been injured call an attorney immediately and discuss your case. In California for adults there is a two year statute of limitations which means that you cannot pursue a claim more than two years after the date of the accident. In addition to the statute, hiring a personal injury lawyer immediately can help preserve evidence, get you into the right medical providers, and help you navigate through the process of receiving treatment.
If you have been injured in an accident, begin the healing process by considering hiring a personal injury attorney.
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]
For at least the last few years, anyone tuned into national news is aware of what seems a wave of police brutality and cases of wrongful death by police shooting working through the newspapers and courts. The Los Angeles Police Department reported that 2017 was a record year for settlement payments, at nearly $81 million (not […]