- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
If you’ve ever been hit by a drunk driver, this news might be a relief: a bill was signed into California state law last fall, requiring convicted drunk drivers to install ignition interlock devices (IIDs) on their cars to prevent and reduce drunk driving accidents.
The law goes into effect statewide on January 1, 2019, but residents of Sacramento County have already been subjected to the same rules as part of a pilot program that also included Los Angeles, Alameda, and Tulare counties. California joins twenty-eight other states and the District of Columbia in having strong IID laws in place for drunk driving offenders.
The device is basically a “breathalyzer” that requires the driver to blow into it, and prohibits the car from starting if the driver has blood-alcohol content of .08% or higher. According to Senator Jerry Hill’s press release, the DMV reported:
IIDs are 74 percent more effective than license suspension in preventing repeat offenses.”
The bill was carried by Mothers Against Drunk Driving, an advocacy group that began in the Sacramento area and has spread in size and influence over the past few decades. In MADD’s evaluation of California’s ignition interlock pilot program, they state that interlocks prevented 1,024,667 drunk driving incidents since July 2010.
The law is very similar to the pilot program that is already underway in Sacramento County, but with slight changes, it will stipulate that:
An IID typically costs $70 to $150 for installation, plus about $60 to $80 per month for monitoring and calibration. Low-income offenders will be offered an option to pay on a sliding scale of 10%, 25%, or 50% of the costs (the rest paid by the IID provider).
The new law requires the California Transportation Agency to study and report on the program by January 1, 2025. The law will “sunset” on January 1, 2026, unless extended by the Legislature.
Based on the pilot program reports provided by the DMV and MADD, there is plenty of reason to expect that the California IID law will prevent many drunk driving accidents in the future, and will likely save thousands of lives.
In February of this year, a bill was introduced by Assembly Member Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) that would have it illegal for law enforcement officials to engage in “motorcycle profiling.” The successful passing of this bill likely would have had a significant impact on future California motorcycle accident cases. Co-authored by Speaker Pro Tempore Kevin Mullin (D-South San […]
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]