- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
Up to 4.1 million drivers in the State of California are uninsured, according to the Insurance Research Council.
If you’re one of these drivers, read this article to understand why car insurance is important to have and what can happen if you don’t.
Yes, car insurance is absolutely required in California. When you drive a vehicle (even a motorcycle), you need to have financial coverage to protect your passengers and your vehicle in case of an auto accident. Auto insurance provides this coverage and protects you financially from unpredictable events like accidents.
It is mandatory to have the following minimum auto insurance coverage (which is also needed to register your vehicle with the California DMV):
There are various types of coverage you can buy that will help to protect you in the event of an accident. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM) is found within your own insurance policy and is designed to help you pay for bills associated with a crash that was caused by another person who isn’t insured, or is underinsured.
All insurance companies in California must offer you UM/UIM coverage unless you opt out in writing. You also have the option of suing the driver directly for reimbursement of your medical expenses and other costs.
If you have to file a claim and collect under your UM/UIM policy, it will not raise your rates. If the accident is not your fault, your insurance company cannot raise your premiums for using this coverage.
Anyone who is driving your vehicle with your permission, as well as any passengers in the vehicle, is covered if they are hit by an under- or uninsured person. The vehicle does not even have to be moving in order to qualify.
In order to assert a UM/UIM claim, you must establish that the other party was at-fault and was actually uninsured. You must file a form SR-1, Report of Traffic Accident Occurring in California, within 10 days. Also obtain an SR-19 from the DMV.
From there, you must submit a demand letter to your own insurance company to receive compensation for your expenses. Be sure to settle your UM/UIM claim within the 2 year statute of limitations in the state of California.
As is the case for any insurance claim where the other party is at fault, the following items are covered:
Tort liability in personal injury cases is most often based on acts of negligence, but there are exceptions. Sometimes the responsible party is held to the strict liability tort standard, meaning that a finding of negligence or malicious intent is not required. The most common types of strict liability tort cases are based on: Product […]
A negligence-based lawsuit against a school can have unique complications, depending on the type of institution it is. Overall, teachers, school administrators, and other staff have a “duty of care,” meaning they must take reasonable steps to avoid and prevent circumstances likely to cause personal injury to a student. Some reasons you might want to […]
In February of this year, a bill was introduced by Assembly Member Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) that would have made it illegal for law enforcement officials to engage in “motorcycle profiling.” The successful passing of this bill likely would have had a significant impact on future California motorcycle accident cases. Co-authored by Speaker Pro Tempore Kevin Mullin (D-South […]