- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
According to a guide on the The Federal Communications Commision (FCC) website, both dedication and creative thinking are needed to end distracted driving. The FCC also states that the current levels of injury and loss due to texting while driving are unacceptable.
Texting while driving has become more popular as people have relied more heavily on their cell phones. With the increase in popularity has come an increase in distracted driving, leading to injury and loss of life. In fact, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reported in 2008 that driver distraction was the cause of 16 percent of all fatal crashes — 5,800 people killed — and 21 percent of crashes resulting in an injury — 515,000 people wounded. If you’ve been the victim of one of these terrible accidents, contact a distracted driving attorney in our office as soon as possible.
Many have taken proactive measures to try and reduce accidents related to distracted driving. Currently, there is no national ban on texting or using wireless phones while driving, but a number of states have passed laws that ban cell phone usage while driving. The FCC is working with industry, safety organizations, and other government agencies, to inform and educate the public about the dangers of distracted driving and is seeking to identify and facilitate the development of innovative technologies that could reduce the incidence of distracted driving.
Every driver, or future driver should take the following precautions to lower your risk of injuring yourself or others while texting and driving:
You do not want to be responsible for causing an accident because of distracted driving. Each time a driver gets behind the wheel they are putting their lives at risk. Frank Penney, Sacramento Auto Accident Attorney is on your side if you ever fall victim to a distracted driver.
In February of this year, a bill was introduced by Assembly Member Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) that would have it illegal for law enforcement officials to engage in “motorcycle profiling.” The successful passing of this bill likely would have had a significant impact on future California motorcycle accident cases. Co-authored by Speaker Pro Tempore Kevin Mullin (D-South San […]
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]