- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
A Low Speed Rear Impact Collision (LSRIC) is one in which two cars are in an accident, but the speed traveled was very low, i.e. under 10 miles per hour. At this speed, it’s common for there to be minimal or no property damage, so insurance adjusters will make a low-ball offer.
So the question becomes, can a person actually be injured in a low speed rear impact collision? This has been a subject of debate and many articles have been written on the subject.
There is evidence that you can, indeed, sustain significant injury based on these events:
The force with which the body is thrown forward depends on the combined speed at impact and how physically hard the car is, i.e. whether it absorbs the impact. Older cars are hard, whereas newer cars are built with absorption.
The soft tissues in a person’s neck or back, such as ligaments, tendons, and muscles, can be affected even by low-impact car crashes.
Elderly persons or those in poor physical condition with preexisting injuries in these areas are more susceptible to these types of injuries. Tall people may also be more at risk of whiplash injury, depending on the height of the headrest.
If possible, take photographs of all vehicles, showing the areas of contact. Be sure to “walk the clock,” meaning that while circling the vehicle, take photographs from all sides, not just the impact area. Photograph the bumper shock isolators, if so equipped. Photograph the interior, airbags, the dashboard, and the steering wheel. Later at trial there may be claims that secondary impacts “pushed into vehicle ahead” and so on. Photo documentation now can help refute such future claims. In addition:
There are two key reasons why it’s a good idea to consult with a car accident attorney in a low-speed rear impact collision case.
A credible personal injury lawyer won’t charge you for a consultation, and services should be free if they don’t win your case. When in doubt, there’s no risk in contacting our office to share your story.
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]
For at least the last few years, anyone tuned into national news is aware of what seems a wave of police brutality and cases of wrongful death by police shooting working through the newspapers and courts. The Los Angeles Police Department reported that 2017 was a record year for settlement payments, at nearly $81 million (not […]