Liability for Serving an Obviously Intoxicated Minor

intoxicated minors

California bars and restaurants cannot be held personally liable for serving alcohol to an intoxicated adult customer who later injures someone in a motor vehicle accident. However, the bar or restaurant can be liable if the person is a minor and was “obviously intoxicated” when served alcohol by the establishment as codified in California Business and Professions Code section 25602.1.

Signs of an Obviously Intoxicated Minor

The phrase “obviously intoxicated” means a minor who has known outward manifestations of liquor intoxication. The supplier of alcohol must use his or her powers of observation to such extent as to see that which is easily seen and to hear at that which is easily heard. The outward manifestations of liquor intoxication can be obvious and can include:

  • Slurred speech
  • Irregular body movements
  • Excessive laughing
  • Unstable footing
  • Unintelligible speech
  • Red eyes and a drastic change of behavior.

Prosecuting Servers of Obviously Intoxicated Minors

In order to prosecute a case like this, it is important to obtain the minor’s preliminary alcohol screening or blood alcohol level results. It may also be necessary to retain an expert toxicologist who can use this information to testify regarding the minor’s outward manifestations of intoxication. A bartending expert may also be needed to testify as to any previous or existing disciplinary actions, violations or complaints involving the bar or restaurant. In addition, a thorough investigation should be conducted to obtain any and all percipient witness testimony that can support the evidence of an obviously intoxicated minor. These are but a few of the issues involved in what are usually very difficult cases to prosecute.

Recent Blog Posts

  • classroom where a school accident might happen

    Can You Sue if Your Child Suffers Personal Injury at School?

    Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]

    Read More
  • uber app

    New California Drunk Driving Law Restricts Uber & Lyft Drivers

    Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]

    Read More
  • police force in riot gear

    Wrongful Death by Police: Should You Take a Settlement?

    For at least the last few years, anyone tuned into national news is aware of what seems a wave of police brutality and cases of wrongful death by police shooting working through the newspapers and courts. The Los Angeles Police Department reported that 2017 was a record year for settlement payments, at nearly $81 million (not […]

    Read More
  • Sacramento Office
  • 333 University Avenue, Suite 200
  • Sacramento, CA
  • (916) 756-0772
  • Roseville Office
  • 1544 Eureka Road, Suite 120
  • Roseville, CA
  • (916) 788-1960
  • Oakland Office
  • 1300 Clay St, Suite 600
  • Oakland, CA
  • (510) 962-4610

© 2018 Penney Law, Serving the Areas of Sacramento, Roseville, Fairfield, Modesto, Stockton & Oakland California