- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
A European organization called Responsible Young Drivers produced an educational video that’s fun to watch. License applicants were told that they would have to send text messages during their driving test, and the video shows the results. Most of the drivers are shocked and a little upset, but they learn a very valuable lesson. Even at slow speeds, they are unable to send a text message without knocking over cones.
Over 12 million people have viewed this video on YouTube so far. Hopefully, they will take the message to heart and reduce the staggering number of distracted driving accidents. Please share so more people can be inspired to drive safely.
Many activities performed in a vehicle can result in distracted driving, such as:
A distracted driving survey conducted by Erie insurance found that some people even brush their teeth and change their clothes while driving!
But texting and driving is the most dangerous. Texting is a triple threat, because it uses the driver’s mental, visual and manual focus. Research conducted on distracted driving accidents show that it is just as dangerous as drunk driving.
Perhaps not surprisingly, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that of the drivers who were distracted at the time of a car crash, 15- to 19-year-olds made up the largest proportion.
See our article and infographic about teen driving safety statistics.
The danger continues despite the passage of hands-free laws in California.
“The best way to end distracted driving is to educate all Americans about the danger it poses.”-www.distraction.gov
What can you do to help educate people about the dangers of texting and driving?
In February of this year, a bill was introduced by Assembly Member Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) that would have it illegal for law enforcement officials to engage in “motorcycle profiling.” The successful passing of this bill likely would have had a significant impact on future California motorcycle accident cases. Co-authored by Speaker Pro Tempore Kevin Mullin (D-South San […]
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]