- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
Getting a driver’s license is one of the most exciting events in a teenager’s life. For most teens, a license equals freedom and a step toward adulthood. But for parents, this day can be extremely stressful because car accidents are the leading cause of death for teenage drivers.
Parents play a key role in preventing teen crashes. Believe it or not, when asked whose opinions they listen to, teens most often said their parents,” says Erin Sauber-Schatz, PhD, MPH, of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
Risky behaviors like speeding, not wearing a seat belt and texting while driving obviously increase the likelihood of an accident. But it is important for parents to know that every teen is at risk for an accident based solely on inexperience, which is the leading cause of crashes. This explains why most collisions involving teens occur within the first 6 months of licensure. A study conducted by the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia found these to be the three most common errors leading to teen collisions:
The more experienced the driver, the less the likelihood that he or she will make these beginner mistakes. Says the CDC’s Sauber-Schatz, “It’s a new skill that they have to learn and they need to practice.”
If your teen is starting to drive and you’re not sure where to start. Here are 5 things you can do to help your teen be a responsible driver.
Getting a driver’s license for the first time can be exciting and can give a teen that first taste of freedom. But due to the number of accidents, injuries and death that occur with teen drivers, it is important that parents take this new responsibility seriously. By following some of the recommendations above, parents can play a crucial role in helping to reduce accidents and hopefully preventing injury and death.m Teen Car Accident Infographic
Here is an infographic with some interesting teen car accident statistics. You can embed this infographic from our teen car accident infographic page.
In February of this year, a bill was introduced by Assembly Member Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) that would have it illegal for law enforcement officials to engage in “motorcycle profiling.” The successful passing of this bill likely would have had a significant impact on future California motorcycle accident cases. Co-authored by Speaker Pro Tempore Kevin Mullin (D-South San […]
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]