- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
After being involved in a traumatic accident, there may be unforeseen expenses that exceed what you feel the value of your personal injury case should be. There are also many factors that affect the worth of your case. The value of your personal injury case greatly depends on three primary factors:
Personal injury is already a hardship to endure without the added burden of financial crisis. You can get your expenses lowered with the help of a personal injury attorney. Insurance companies may reduce medical bill amounts for being too high or not appropriate for claimed injuries. Lost income is a big factor in the value of your case and may be questioned by the insurance representative if there is no supporting documentation from your doctor to verify a medical leave. Speak with a personal injury attorney for help with understanding the worth of your personal injury case.
Hello my name is attorney Frank Penny, and this is the Legal Minute. What is your case worth? The value of your case depends greatly on a number of factors. Generally speaking, the value of your case includes reasonable and necessary medical bills, lost income, and pain and suffering. Insurance companies may reduce your medical bills for being too high or not appropriate for the accident or injuries claimed, or by amounts written up by health insurance carriers. Your lost income may be questioned by the insurance representative if their is no supporting documentation from a doctor, or you are unable to establish you pay history. Or the insurance company doesn’t believe you were injured. Pain and suffering varies case by case basis that can be based on allowable medical bills, the nature and extent of your injuries and your long-term prognosis and future losses.
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]
Commencing July 1, 2018, a California DUI law will go into effect making it illegal for drivers with a blood alcohol content level of .04 percent or higher to operate a vehicle that carries a passenger for hire. “Passenger for hire” is a legal definition meaning “a passenger for whom consideration is contributed as a […]
For at least the last few years, anyone tuned into national news is aware of what seems a wave of police brutality and cases of wrongful death by police shooting working through the newspapers and courts. The Los Angeles Police Department reported that 2017 was a record year for settlement payments, at nearly $81 million (not […]