- Personal Injury Lawyer
- Case Settlements
The case of a high-speed, head-on motor vehicle collision in Lassen County was settled this year for $1.5 million.
Our client, a 54-year-old church youth counselor, sustained severe fractures to her leg and ankle during the drunk driving accident. Multiple surgeries were required to repair the bones with hardware. She was unable to walk or move naturally for some time and continues to have functional limitations as a result of the accident.
The collision occurred when the intoxicated driver of a 2008 Lexus crossed over a highway center divider, impacting the victim’s vehicle head-on. Our personal injury attorneys were able to prove the residual nature of the injuries and focus on the horrific conduct of the defendant drunk driver.
If it can be proven that your injuries were the result of a drunk driver’s negligence, the driver’s insurance company will be required to compensate you for damages in an amount up to the policy limit. Actual personal injury case settlements are determined by several variables, such as:
As shocking as it may seem, insurance companies and their adjusters will try to avoid accepting liability even in a drunk driving case. They will do their best to blame your injuries on pre-existing medical conditions, prior accident injuries, or degenerative changes in order to minimize your settlement. An experienced car accident lawyer will make sure you get the full compensation you deserve.
A negligence-based lawsuit against a school can have unique complications, depending on the type of institution it is. Overall, teachers, school administrators, and other staff have a “duty of care,” meaning they must take reasonable steps to avoid and prevent circumstances likely to cause personal injury to a student. Some reasons you might want to […]
In February of this year, a bill was introduced by Assembly Member Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) that would have it illegal for law enforcement officials to engage in “motorcycle profiling.” The successful passing of this bill likely would have had a significant impact on future California motorcycle accident cases. Co-authored by Speaker Pro Tempore Kevin Mullin (D-South San […]
Laws about whether or not you can file a lawsuit against a school vary from state to state. In California you certainly can, but first you must file a Notice of Claim within six months of the date of injury. School districts are government entities and as such are protected by what is known as […]